3. The Harlot’s Husband

This is the first song I ever wrote.

It was the summer of 2011 and I had just completely overhauled my music choices. The Head and the Heart had a song called “Honey Come Home” from their debut album. The song itself is kind of this light-hearted, “hey you can come back now I’ve changed” song that follows a more intense song on that album. For some reason, I loved that line…

honey, come home

So, I wrote a song based around that line.

I didn’t add a title to the song until this past year. A harlot is another name for a prostitute. This song follows in the tracks of “Louise” and chronicles the latter part of the strained relationship between the husband and wife. The Harlot’s Husband is written from the point of view of the husband and he is finally done. It isn’t healthy for him to wait for her to grow up anymore. He’s got kids to worry about. But he’s never really gonna give up on her. He still believes in her. He still wants to champion her dreams. He wants her home.

So, without further ado, here is my song “The Harlot’s Husband”.


Honey, just come home.

I’m tired and worried sick.

When you ran out the door, I thought you’d be back for sure.

Honey, please, come home.

 

Baby, please, I miss your head

lying next to mine.

When I wake up and you’re gone, and you won’t pick up the phone,

I’m a wreck, I miss you, please come home.

 

Darling, please, come kiss our son.

He misses his mother so bad.

When I tuck him in, he waits up for a kiss

from his mother’s soft and tender lips.

 

I guess that I’ll stop calling now.

It’s time for me to move on.

But if you come back and decide to try again,

I’ll love you, and I’ll kiss you all the same.

 

Honey,

Honey, please,

just come home.

 

Leave a Reply

