2. Louise

This post scares me. 

There are a lot of miscontruable and potentially offensive things about this song. As you may know from first or second-hand experience, marriage isn’t the wedding. Not to say that marriage is never exciting or joyful or happy. It is all of those things and more; however, marriage is not exclusively those things. And for a lot of people, marriage becomes the opposite of those things. Sometimes people scream and throw things. Sometimes safety is questioned. Sometimes people lie to each other and it stings.

Sometimes people quit.

They said they they’d never leave. They said “in sickness and health; richer and poorer; good and bad” and they may have never meant it. The world we live in is pervasively enveloped in brokenness; and marriages, unfortunately, are not exempt from the consequences.

The name “Louise” is originally a German name that means “famous warrior”. The name fits the song because the wife is constantly fighting against her marriage and her kids. That’s how her husband is beginning to know her and inevitably is how her kids will know her. With her family, she will be infamous for the war she waged against them. So, without further ado, here is my song “Louise”.


 

Where have you been?

I’ve waited all night for you to come home.

The kids are asleep, those aren’t your clothes,

are those his?

 

I can’t fight it.

I’ve done all that I can to stop you.

If you want to leave, find some boxes.

Please don’t.

 

Why won’t you stop

climbing into bed with these poachers?

Don’t you remember your promises?

Just come back home to me.

 

I love you.

Why can’t you believe I’d do anything

to make sure you’re mine?

I’ve covered our bed in blood.

 

The rest is on you.

You’ve got to want to stop whoring.

You’ve got to want to stop loving

anything that moves.

 

Why won’t you stop

climbing into bed with these poachers?

Don’t you remember your promises?

Just come back home to me.

 

I guess it’s goodbye then?

Your space in the bed will stay open

until you come home to reclaim it.

I refuse to quit on you. 

Leave a Reply

