1. Love You, Mean It

I love weddings.

There are numerous aspects of weddings that I love, but specifically I love the excitement and joy and happiness that radiates from the face of the groom. I mean, sure, the bride is stunning and the decor is spectacular and the event itself is typically run very well. But there is just something about a grown man getting that ecstatic about anything in our society that pumps me up to the nth degree.

One of my favorite times at wedding ceremonies is when the bride steps into view. It’s not my favorite because of the bride; it’s my favorite because of the groom. See, when everyone stands up to watch the bride and her dad walk down the aisle, I turn and watch the groom slowly (or sometimes quickly) lose his mind in pure elation and disbelief that someone would say “Yes” to him and vow to never leave. There has been a few times that I have almost cried just from watching the groom’s reaction to seeing his bride walk towards him.

With all that being said, it was only fitting that my first happy song be about a wedding from the groom’s point of view. After all, it is one of my favorite things about this life. So, without further ado, here is my song called “Love You, Mean It”.


 

I’ve been waitin’

for three long years

for this day to come

to put a ring on your finger and call you mine.

 

I’ve been yearnin’

for your lips on mine

and the touch of your hand

and the walks that we take on a summer night.

 

Here you come down the aisle,

wrapped around your daddy’s arm,

more beautiful than man can describe.

You are my bride.

You are my bride.

 

You show me grace in all my mistakes.

You refuse to say goodbye.

Oh my Lord, I don’t deserve the love of this girl,

but she will never leave my side.

 

I’m done waiting.

Today’s the day

that you promise to forever be my bride.

Leave a Reply

